A second look at SELF…2017 loading

Great morning Champs

What a year it has been….there were highs and lows, Joy and Pain..ease and struggles and we are still here, still standing with..yes…massive expectations for the year 2017!

As I woke up this morning on this side of the world, I had, heavy on my mind,thoughts of how I want to go through all that makes up 2017. I am conscious of the fact that I had always carried a desire and expectancy for more in 2016 and now I want to see the manifestations of those expectations in 2017. Looking back,I remain very grateful for the opportunities that God brought my way…Grateful but now I want to not just utilize those opportunities but Maximize them! I have spent the last decade being curious for all and anything that affects performance delivery whether it be spiritual, marital,careerwise or personal development……and so I have always sought to clearly establish the link between opportunity maximizing and performance management. I have looked for a simple to capture and what keeps coming back to me is exceptional performance and being all that God has called you to be is all tied to what you prioritize and what you don’t prioritize!!!!! It’s all in your priorities!!!!

God,Self,family and the world……in my opinion, the four areas of life’s priority that affect all that has to do with us

  1. God
  2. Self
  3. Family
  4. The World

As you look at the list above,what comes to mind? ……… Earlier in the year,I did a survey amongst a group of men that I was speaking to and I asked them to list the four points in order of priority and guess what?? All of them had God has number 1 but only 10 percent of the group had Self listed at number 2 priority…..Many listed family as number 2. Hmmmmm which why all I want to talk about today is SELF!

Featured Image -- 1106

I dare say that the biggest problem in the world today is deprioritizarion of self! Too many people walk around with erroneous notion that giving priority is self-centered, selfish or whatever negative aspersions they can cast on it. Folks have gone through the past year simply not paying attention to self all the name of being “selfless”( which is very misunderstood, in my humble opinion) . I understand all that but my position has always been very clear : if self is the vehicle by which you deployed all that God has placed within you to serve your God family and your world, why wouldn’t you give all the attention required to self so that you can effectively carry out your God given assignment here on earth! If it’s true that you can not give what you don’t have,then a self that has not been developed has very little to offer to family, the world and yes to God. Recall the Parable of talents?? What you do with what God has placed in your hands matters! What you do with God has placed in your hands is a function of what YOU know how to do! You can not give what you do not have!

I am saying this again…the best gift that you can ever give to your world is the best version of You. The best version of You comes out of recognizing who you are and in extention WHOSE  you are…Understanding the principals and the person of whose you are… because it’s impossible for you to realize what your purpose is here on earth if you don’t know the ONE that gave the purpose in the first place. Now Understanding purpose calls for you to examine what is needed to fulfill that purpose which means you have pay attention to the skills that you need to acquire to fulfilling purpose! How can one who is bound liberate another? You must have have found liberation to be able to give to others…. That’s why you must prioritize yourself so that you can deliver to every other area of priority in your life. What kind of father or husband or mother or wife would you be if you haven’t learnt degrees of self mastery over your emotions,your tolerance, your patience,your understanding, your ability to handle pain and rejection…your ability to be firm and yet not rigid,your ability to handle your vulnerability, your ability to possess inner peace as an outcome of your relationship with God…I could go on and on but I trust that you get the picture.

2017 presents yet another opportunity for you to strive towards the best version of YOU that the world has ever seen. When YOU get better, your family gets better,your world gets better.

My name is Aniekan Usoroh  And I desire to see the best of YOU even as I wish you a most glorious year in 2017. As You get better,You will make a much needed impact in our world. May our God bless you real good as you keep walking #thepathwayofchampions

AU

 

 

About aniekanusoroh

AU is a business development administrator and service delivery planner who is sold out to the "there is a better way" concept..the pursuit of excellence!...thus birthing the Pathway of Champions initiative which is a movement that calls for a personal dedication to commit to excellence in every phase and sphere of life....

Posted on December 29, 2016, in INSPIRATION. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

